Skip to content

Week 1

October 11, 2009

For the next little while, I will be using this blog as a way to update the birthing process of Baypointe Church and keep friends, family, and fellow leaders updated on the status of the Liles family during it all.

Week 1 – Transition. This was definitely the theme for this past week. It was a long week of getting moved on Monday and Tuesday and trying to get unpacked. As of this writing (Sunday morning) we are about 75% unpacked physically and much more mentally! I am ready for this upcoming week for a couple of reasons:

  1. The kids go to school. I love my kids more than I can explain, but having them under my feet, trying to move, and getting unpacked for 9 days straight has me ready for some space. Mack is in this age where she wants to be with me and Brenda all the time, wants to only have “adult” conversations, and forgets she is only 9. Need some space. Cadence is still thinking we are on vacation so she wants to “go somewhere” everyday, eat out for all meals, and have no schedule. Need space. Gracen, well he is just a crazy 2 year old. Need space. Do I feel guilty about wanting some alone time? Nope, it’s needed if I want to be a good father. This week they go back to school and that will give me the space I need.
  2. Brenda starts her new job. She is really excited and nervous, but this is what she has been wanting. She was really nervous yesterday and basically feels like she is the new kid in school. I am so proud of her, and can’t imagine doing life without her.
  3. I get to start working on Baypointe Church! This is why God brought us here and I am ready to get it going. I have so much to do, but I know the work will bring so many rewards. This week is mostly a administrative week (establish non-profit status, incorporation process, bank account, set up virtual office space, etc) but these things must get done. My office for the week is not too bad, it’s only a Starbucks about 200 yards from the ocean…

I am looking forward to our life here. I am ready for the staff of Baypointe to get here to start this journey with me. They are an excited group of guys that are relocating here because they believe that this is a God moment for me and for them. I admire their faith and can’t wait to serve this community with them!

Grace.

ben

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

