Skip to content

Final Office Day Thoughts

October 1, 2009

Excitement. Anxiety. Joy. Nervous. Happy. Sad…

In the last few weeks, many people have asked how I am feeling in response to my next step in life. To be honest, it just depends on when you ask me. It depends on what I am thinking about. I am an emotional burrito!!!

Today is the last day in the office of GCTV. I have learned so much while working here that I will be forever indebted to Pastor Brian and the staff. In only a year and a half we have become a close team that has survived more than any church staff should. One day our story will be told, and when it is, most people will be blown away, while others won’t believe it. It has been the greatest test of leadership any of us will probably face, but in the end we are greater leaders for it. The staff at GCTV loves the people of this church more than the people understand, and that is something I want everyone to know. Never take for granted how much this staff loves you, and will be there if you need them.

Let’s lighten things up a bit…here are some things I have learned while I was here:

  1. Pastors Brian and Scott have weird tastes in football teams! But I will say this, they are loyal to their teams despite all the garbage they get for it.
  2. Kathy Stock’s voice reminds me of Norah Jones.
  3. Scotty Thornton is one of the most laid back guys I know. You gotta keep an eye on that guy…
  4. Robby Hughes is by far one of the funniest and most random guys I have ever met! I will always be the Commander though…
  5. Steve Mooney is really a Pirate at heart.
  6. Pastor Lance’s laugh makes me laugh. It’s one of the deepest laughs I have ever heard.
  7. Tabitha Hunter makes the best cupcakes on the planet. No discussion. And don’t give me one of those “Well, you should tastes my Aunt Betsie’s.” I won’t and I don’t want to! Put that in your cupcake pan…
  8. Jason Stock should join the UFC. Just sayin…
  9. I have not many people that generally love people as much as Lisa Collier. It’s inspiring.
  10. Marty Fitzpatrick is just a funny guy. And you really need to see his son breakdance!
  11. Jerad Collier is a music snob. “A Blues band and a Jazz band are not the same thing!!!!”
  12. Tiffany Mooney and Amber Tice are two of the most loyal and talented Kids Workers I have ever seen. Please don’t stop loving these kids, they need you.
  13. Tiffany Stuart, I think you have a Facebook addiction. I am starting a FB Anonymous group and you need to be there! But, kidding aside, you have also been very encouraging and Gracen will miss you terribly.
  14. Pastor Scott is one of the most talented guys I know. Is there really anything he can’t do?
  15. Pastor Brian has more shoes than most women I know. Just kidding…wait, no I am not! That dude has got some shoes!
  16. Piney and Michelle have been great friends since the day I pulled in the driveway of Tallahassee. I will miss you guys more than you know…
  17. Jeremy Williams is a gangsta in hiding. Don’t let the red hair fool ya. You will find that out if he texts you. Thanks for all the lunches, they are priceless.
  18. Ty and Jenn – You guys will be fine. Your marriage will rock!
  19. Did I mention that Tabitha Hunter makes amazing cupcakes?

Okay, let’s be honest. I am only moving a couple hours away so it not like we won’t see you again. I have made so many friendships, that the list could go on for a long time and no one would read it anyway. Maybe I’ll do a second one later…

I am a better person for having been here. I am a better leader, thinker, and can’t say how much I treasure my time here. Was it rough? At times, but the tough times shape us. Was it fun? Of course, that’s when good memories are made. Will I miss it? More than you will ever know. I am on a new journey, one that will be filled with great accomplishments as well as a few failures. But, I know that it is one that God has ordained, and that is all I really need to know.

Grace.

Ben

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    October 1, 2009 1:03 pm

    You made me cry. You just don’t know how much I am going to miss you guys. I don’t even know what to say. This is so hard. I hope that you ROCK over in Panama City like you did in Gainesville and Tallahassee.

  2. Tiffany permalink
    October 1, 2009 1:05 pm

    Wow… just put me on blast why don’t you! lol… Thanks for letting me keep Gracen! I have enjoyed him… This was too funny, I needed that laugh this morning! And you will be terribly missed, I think you’re my favorite Associate Pastor by far!!!! And I will visit but look for me in the off season, lol…

  3. Stacy Bartlett permalink
    October 1, 2009 2:38 pm

    Great blog and the GCTV church staff definitely rocks!!!!!!! You guys will be greatly missed…but we will see you in PCB often — especially we “live” there every-other weekend! 🙂

  4. October 6, 2009 11:29 pm

    I am not liking that you guys are gone…not one little bit…but I will take a moment to put the selfishness aside, and say I’m thoroughly excited for you.
    Your future’s so bright, you better wear shades 🙂
    Thank you for pouring into us…for feeding us bottomless peanut butter M&M’s and delicious snack foods in your beautiful home…for building my self esteem every time you speak to me…Nora Jones, dude?! That’s awesome! 🙂
    Thank you for teaching me and my family how to be better people. You have made an imprint here and you will make an imprint there. Lucky, lucky Panama City Beach.

Leave a Reply

