Skip to content

My Next Step

September 21, 2009

Final BPC 8.5X11It was announced today at Genesischurch.tv that I would be leaving. Now before you flip out and go into detective mode to try and figure why I would leave such an amazing church I am just going to tell you so you can know. I am planting a brand new church in Panama City called Baypointe Church!!!!

For the past few months Pastor Brian Hunter and I have been talking about this and I feel this is the next step for me in my faith journey. The Florida Church of God State Office has approved me, and my family and I are taking some steps of faith to make this vision I have a reality. I am excited and a little nervous (okay, a lot nervous!) about this but know that I know this is a God moment in my life. Pastor Brian and Genesis will be partnering with me to plant this church. They will providing resources, equipment, coaching, as a way to be a major part of this church plant.

A couple of details I am sure you are wondering about. My last Sunday at Genesis will be October 4th. Brenda (through a huge miracle of God) has been transferred from her present job to her corporate office which is located in Panama City. She starts on October 12th so we will be moving the weekend of the 9th and 10th. (We need help moving! At least you will be getting an excuse to go to the beach for the weekend…) Our opening day for Baypointe will be April 4th 2010 which is Easter Sunday. Between now and then I will be forming a core group, training teams, and yes RAISING MONEY! It will take a lot of finances to make this dream a reality, but I believe that God will lead me to the right people and churches that will invest in a kingdom moment. Many of you reading this I believe are those friends that God will use to help financially and in prayer.

This is not a sad thing, this is a great thing! I will miss so many people at Genesischurch, but through our partnership with Genesis I will be in close touch with many of you. Please keep us in your prayers as I take on the daunting task of raising the necessary funds that will make the dream of a life-changing, Spirit filled, church in Panama City a reality.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2009 3:29 am

    DUDE! Very cool. I’m really excited about this and looking forward hearing all the awesome stories leading up to opening day and beyond. Andrea and I will be praying for you. I’m sure we’ll be in touch.

  2. Barbara V permalink
    September 24, 2009 6:20 pm

    This is great news! You will be greatly missed at GC but it will give us all a chance to go visit you and Brenda at Bay Pointe (not all at the same time, we can’t abandon PB)!

    Jack Hayford started his church many years ago on a beach. Be prepared for people to come in all sorts of attire.

    Remember God is greater than any obstacle that you face as you begin the next portion of the journey.
    Go with God!

Leave a Reply

