Skip to content

No More School For Me!

September 1, 2009

36108499Last night I completed all my course work for my Doctorate of Ministry degree. My dissertation was successfully defended and all paperwork is complete. So it’s over and I really don’t know what to do with myself. This morning was the first time in 8 years that there were no text books in my bag. I don’t think it has sunk in yet. I have accomplished a task I sat out to do almost a decade ago, and now that it is done, it’s weird. Here are a couple of things I leaned along the way:

1.     A lot of the work was tedious and definitely not exciting, but it through those courses I learned discipline.

2.     A lot of the work will never be taught from the pulpit, but through it I learned how to discern the needs of those God has placed under me.

3.     A lot of the work I thought would never get done, but through it I learned perseverance.

4.     A lot of the work stretched me theologically, but through it I found that God places wisdom and learning in me when I need it most.

Please do not get me wrong, I learned plenty of academic material and when I made the statement to Pastor Brian that my brain is full of a lot of useless knowledge, he simply said “it’s not useless, it’s the foundation on how you now filter everything.” Good point.

I want to say thanks to my amazingly patient wife, Brenda. She has put up with 8 years of me and all the frustrations that went along with it. It’s over, baby! Also, I have to say thanks to my dad, who made it financially possible. I have no student loans due to his willingness to pay tuition. And finally to Dr. E Bob Kuschel and Pastor Brian Hunter for their willingness to put up with a full-time staff member that still held to a dream of higher education. Most “bosses” wouldn’t let that happen and you guys did, thanks.

Okay so now what?

1.     I am going to read books that I want to read!! Lots of them No more being force fed books that I had no interest in…I AM STILL TRYING TO GET MY HANDS ON A KINDLE!! Keep your eyes and ears open for a used one all you Craiglisters and Ebayers…

2.     I am going to sleep.

3.     I am going to clear my muddy head.

After that I don’t know…but I know God does.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2009 5:28 pm

    Yay! Congrats on that major accomplishment. Very proud of you 😉

  2. Mom permalink
    September 4, 2009 3:21 pm

    I am so very proud of you and all of your accomplishments. I have know from the day you were born that God had a very special plan for your life. Your are blessed and very much loved!

Leave a Reply

