Skip to content

Vision With No Apologies

August 4, 2009

light-at-end-of-tunnel61I think that I have made it clear to everyone that I believe Pastor Brian is one of the most gifted communicators I have heard. He seems to always deliver a heartfelt, passionate, biblically sound message. (No, I am not saying this because he’s “The Boss” or any of that other stuff staff members do!) I usually walk away thinking about something God said through him that I can apply to life. But then there was this past Sunday…

I had the pleasure of sitting in church with my in-laws and for one Sunday, during the second service, I tried to just be a church attender. Not trying to evaluate, lead, or do anything other than try to see our church through a different lens. I lost myself in worship, which Pastor Scott did a tremendous job with, and just tried to “be normal.” (Hard for me to be normal, but cut me some slack!)

Then the message came. It rocked me to the core of who I am. (Here is the link to watch it, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!) I was challenged to be a better follower of Christ, husband, father, and leader. I realized I had been going through the motions of life, mind you in a good way, but not one with a vision. Pastor Brian made the statement that since we know the end (talking about giving an account to God for our lives) we should work from there backwards. I do not think I will ever forget that statement. I spend time with God in the morning asking for wisdom to get through the day, order my steps, what do you want me to do, blah blah blah. But I know the answer because I know the end. Love God, love people, end of discussion. With this as the filter, things become clear. Everything we do is a reflection of how much we love God and people. This includes ourselves.

You have a vision for life. It’s that thing that keeps you up at night. The thing you would do if finances were not an issue. It’s what gets your heart beating a little faster when you talk about it. It’s there, what will you do about it? What keeps people from going after it? Here are mine…(you probably deal with the same ones…)

1.     Fear – We are scared to fail. We are scared of what people will think. We are scared because we don’t know all the answers.

2.     Lack of Confidence – I get this one! Why would God use me when there are so many people way more talented than me? God created you, gifted you, and has placed people in your life to teach you.

Be who God called you to be. Be the man or woman you know you can. Be the husband or wife, son or daughter, co-worker, student, whatever, but do it with the vision God has given you. But when you have the vision, MAKE NO APOLOGIES FOR IT! Not everyone is going to “get” your vision. Not everyone is going to be “on board.” People will try to change and manipulate it, but don’t sway. It’s what God has for you, and never lose sight of it…ever.

May God grip you in His grace. May His vision burn in you to the point you will have no choice but to see it fulfilled. May you be free from fear, and overflowing with confidence. May you be rock solid with your vision, never wavering or shifting. May God expand your vision, and allow you to know how much He wants you to change your world…and His.

Grace.

Ben

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Tiffany permalink
    August 4, 2009 2:07 pm

    Thank you for sharing…

    I know my vision, I know my call…the thing I don’t know is how to get there but I must rest in knowing that it will be in God’s timing, which is always perfect, and I must have patience to wait on Him and insight to see where He is working so I will know where and how to join Him to eventually reach the goals He has set…

  2. Zeke permalink
    August 4, 2009 2:24 pm

    This dovetails nicely with Romans ch. 15 that I’ve been studying recently.

  3. August 4, 2009 4:14 pm

    I completely stole this post and posted it on my blog. Never done that before but I’ve never read someone else’s post and wanted to steal it before. Well said!

  4. Barbara V permalink
    August 5, 2009 6:03 pm

    I know what God has called me to do. Sometimes it burns in me and other times it seems impossible to reach – even though I know God’s Word says all things are possible.

    When PB was preaching I felt as if he were nailing me to the wall – describing my life down to a T.

    I don’t want my life to be identified as mediocre. I’d rather be known as someone who crashed and burned (not literally)going after what God has for me than someone who just settled for the ho-hum.

  5. Crystal H permalink
    August 6, 2009 9:50 am

    So incredible. I am so thankful for this encouragement!

Leave a Reply

