Skip to content

Kicking The Blog Back Into Gear

July 13, 2009

DSCF0071First let me say thank you to all the people that read this page of rambling and sometimes inspired thoughts. All of your emails “encouraging” me to return to the blog world is humbling. Many people have asked me why I have not blogged more and part of the reason is that I have been part of the staff blog at hydrate.tv. We have been writing as a staff, but that is coming to an end as the fall gets closer and Pastor Brian will be taking that blog back over to share his thoughts.

The other reason is that I have been going through a very introspective summer where I have been doing a lot of thinking. Thinking about life, what it holds for me, and honestly the future is a little intimidating. I have been reading and researching new ways to do ministry and what that holds for GCTV and me. God is up to something at GCTV and in me. To be honest my thoughts and feelings have been all over the place, scattered if you will. To write while my thoughts and feelings are scattered is dangerous. I have had days of great joy followed by intense anger and disappointment. (Yes, Pastors do get angry, sad, disappointed, frustrated, overwhelmed, fed up, and a host of other negative emotions. Cut me, I will bleed…) I felt it was better to collect my thoughts and process them alone and then share what I have learned. This is a much more responsible way to handle things.

So here is something I have learned through this time: The darkest of days can be the time of greatest learning. Want to know how much you really depend on God? Go through the crapper. Embrace the moments when you feel you can’t take another step, or better yet, the moment you don’t WANT to take another step. Many people will tell you that everyone goes through these days and you just have to survive it. I disagree. Don’t just survive it, learn from it. Don’t forget it, remember it, allow God to be all you feel you have. I know that God will get me through them, He has proven Himself to me more times than I can count. I still don’t want to forget the down times, I want to remember them so I can remember that God is still my savior. Your darkest days will be an intense time of learning, more than any book will teach.

May you be taught today. May you feel that dark days are times when God is still there, arms open, heart ablaze towards you, and holding you in more ways than you know. May you build an altar in your heart that will remind you of the dark times so that your joyful moments will exponentially increase. May God give your troubled heart rest.

Grace.

Ben

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tiffany permalink
    July 13, 2009 2:18 pm

    Thank you

  2. Michelle permalink
    July 13, 2009 3:07 pm

    Glad you are blogging again! Its always nice to read your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

