Skip to content

Another Lesson Through Gracen

June 21, 2009

wavesToday was a great day as my family and about 40 other people from Genesischurch.tv stormed the beach at St. George Island. The weather was great, Jeremy Williams handled the grill, the water felt great, and God taught me another lesson through my two year old son. I love it when He does that. And holding to my belief that these lessons are to be shared, here we go…

Gracen loves the water, and after a few minutes in the very shallow water running from waves he decided to go a little deeper, and me being the parent that will brave the ocean (Brenda is a little timid in the ocean although she did get in a little today) I held his hand as we went in. He quickly figured out that the waves would knock him down and under the water, but that I would always get him out of trouble. Make no mistake, he was fearless – as long as he was within arms reach. He would put his arm out to see if he could reach me, and if he could he would take a step. If he could not reach me, he would not go. Really quite intelligent for a 2 year old, I think. On a few occasions though, he would break his own rules and get too far. Now I was only a step away, but he was too far for his own good. Every time he got too far a wave would hit and BLOOP he would go under, only to have me lift him out of danger and immediately into my arms. I knew his limits and wanted him to stay within them, even when he could not see his limits. I knew how far he could go, and how far was too far. Do you see the lesson?

Our relationship is the same way. God is going to lead us to our limits, even when we cannot see them. Many times I never knew my limits, I knew God was leading me but I was scared. I was timid about going into full time ministry, scared about moving to Tallahassee, nervous about joining the GCTV team, but in the end I kept God within an arms reach. Or maybe He kept me in his arm length? I have gotten ahead of God, out of reach, and then paid a consequence. When I felt it, overwhelmed by my own choices, and being swept away, it was God that picked me up into His arms, and told me it was going to be okay.

I love being a dad. It’s hard, it’s full time, but the most rewarding thing I do. Does it hurt to let your child learn some lessons? Of course, but they will not make enough mistakes to drive me away. They will never go “too deep” in the water that I won’t come get them. Why does this feel natural? Because God is the same way. He loves being your dad, He will let you feel some consequences of your choices, but in the end, He will love you more than you could ever comprehend. Life is full of waves, and you will get knocked down, but if God is within an arms length, you will never drown. Happy Father’s Day to all.

One Comment leave one →
  1. ebobkuschel permalink
    June 24, 2009 9:52 pm

    I love the lessons we learn from someone who is un-assuming and used by God so that we can see the greater plan.
    Yours is a great testimony!

Leave a Reply

