Skip to content

I Am a Conceited Christian

April 21, 2009

Are we conceited Christians? I think I might be. This morning I was studying Deuteronomy Chapter 4, it is a chapter centering on the themes of obedience, forbidden idolatry, and proof that God is who He says He is. In the last part of the chapter, Moses is retelling some of the amazing things God did that shows who He is. As I read it, part of me thought, “If I was there and saw all of that, you wouldn’t have to convince me!” “Those people are idiots! They saw God do so much, and still needed to be convinced? Come on, really?!?!”

            Then I felt the gentle tug of the Holy Spirit challenge me. It was almost as if I could hear him say “But you do have doubts, worries, struggles with faith, and a host of other things you don’t need to deal with. Don’t you know who God is?” I realized that I was that guy, the guy that had encountered God on numerous occasions, yet still dealt with things that God promised He would handle. I have seen the hand of God…

·      When all three of my children were born…

·      In quiet moments of loneliness that I felt comforted by something I could not see…

·      In the chaos of what happened to our church, God provided…

·      In the continued healing of my mentor, Dr. E. Bob Kuschel…

·      Do a miracle in giving me a wife that I really don’t deserve…

·      In broken people that find their way to Jesus, when all logic says they never will…

·      Comfort the widow of an amazing man the week before we launched our church…

·      In me, yes, the fact that I am alive and in church leadership is only by the hand of God. Some of you know my story and this is the last place I thought I would end up…

 

Does God show Himself in the same way He did in the Old Testament. No. Does that mean He is any less loving, convincing, or powerful? No. He is still an amazing God that sent an amazing son to a world that is in desperate need of Him.

 

 

God, please never let me be a conceited, inwardly focused, arrogant follower of you. Allow me to be changed and stretched through your Spirit. May all of us find you, in the everyday workings of our self-imposed life routines. May we seek you forever…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

