Skip to content

Battle of The Seat Belt

March 25, 2009

photo-51Once again, God has used my son to teach me an important lesson about following Him. Let me share…

This morning, I had my son Gracen with me for as little while before he was being picked up by Dana at my office. As we were leaving the church to come to the office, Gracen and I had a battle. The Battle of The Seat Belt! Here’s the deal, in the backseat of our car, we have a DVD player. The screen is on the seat, but the control panel is in the seat with the kids. Gracen loves to play with it, and we usually let him. As I put him in his carseat, he saw the control panel and began to fight me to get to it. I was trying to buckle him in and he was trying to fight out. I had every intention of giving it to him, but he needed to be buckled in first, for his own safety. It was all a matter of timing. I love him more than he will ever know, and I would be crushed if something happened to him. We fought, I won, and then I gave him what he wanted. Then it hit me…

That’s exactly what we do. We know exactly what we want, we know we are allowed to have it, and we are willing to fight for it, even if it means fighting God’s timing. God will give us what we need and sometimes want, but it needs to be in His time. We fight against Him, and all he is trying to do is “buckle” us in so we are safe. Many times I have learned that I need time to learn and grow before I can have what I want. If God had given me exactly what I wanted in the exact second I wanted it, I would have messed it up. He loves us more than we can comprehend, and will fight to keep us safe, even from ourselves.

 

Today I pray you embrace the power of God’s timing. May you see “delays” as a time of growing and learning. May you gently and willingly allow God to “buckle” you into the seat of life…and go on the journey.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tiffany permalink
    March 25, 2009 5:50 pm

    Isn’t it amazing at how often God reveals Himself even in the small things and often times we fail to recognize it. I buckle Kayleigh in and have similar fights all the time and have never seen it with the same glasses that you saw it with today. Thank you for revealing that small part of God’s truth that I so frequently over look. This is an area in my life that I have often struggled with, hence why I’m not where I should and could have been. My prayer for my friends is that they do not let this same stone cause them to failter in their walk with God. Thanks again for sharing…

Leave a Reply

