Skip to content

We Have Lost a Great Man

January 26, 2009

dscf0078There are few people in life that come into our world, make a difference, and then for some reason or another, are gone. Yesterday I lost one of those people in my life. A good friend and church member, Ben Oder, died yesterday as a result of a heart attack. The world is a less better place today.
When people were fighting the changes I was making to bring health to the church, he never did. He proudly supported me, and knew that God was in the things we were doing. He served faithfully, loved unconditionally, and believed that the greatest days of our church were in front of us. He was a man that all Pastors dream of having, and are impossible to replace. I won’t even try. He was placed in my life by God’s hands, and I will never forget this amazing man of God. He changed my life, and for that I will forever be grateful.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Joana permalink
    January 26, 2009 4:27 am

    Pastor Ben, you about made me cry!

    I wish that I had gotten a chance to know him!

    I can’t wait until our churches both become one body!

    Then we can all experience this communion together with two groups of completely incredible people!

  2. January 26, 2009 7:38 pm

    Pastor Ben,
    I was saddened to hear of Bro. Oder’s passing. I remember the story you told me of Ben and his wife when I visited Blountstown GC. We are praying for the family. These wonderful saints enrich so many lives. They impact eternity!

  3. Stephanie permalink
    February 1, 2009 11:24 pm

    He will be truly missed. One of the best people that I have ever been blessed to know personally. We went to church with him for six years. It won’t ever be the same without him. I only regret that he didn’t get to see the launch after he put in so much work to make it happen. Thanks for writing this.

Leave a Reply

