Skip to content

Sunday Unwound

January 5, 2009

I have decided that in 2009 I am changing my blog stuff a little. In the upcoming weeks, this site will be getting a much needed facelift, and that will help keep it fresh. Another change is that I am reworking the famous “Sunday Rewound,” into a new section called “Sunday Unwound.” I usually write this late on Sunday evening when I am unwinding from the day. I am thinking a rehashing the day, so instead of just being a rundown of what happened it will also include some of my thoughts about the day and the church in general. I hope you enjoy the added content.

• I was so excited about what I was going to teach that I didn’t sleep well last night. That made this morning a little slow, but after a little (okay, a lot) of coffee I was ready to go.
• I listened to the song “Remedy” on the latest David Crowder CD on the way in and it made me cry. The song just hit me, and messed me up all morning. Check it out, and listen to the words, they are inspired.
• The transformation of our church facilities is really coming along. The “B” Building is really sharp and almost complete. When I pulled in I was excited about the new colors and look. Can’t wait for the front building to be done.
• It was great to see most of our college students back. They bring an amazing energy to our morning experiences. We are not the same without them…
• Had a bunch of new first time guests today which is exciting, but even more so are the ones that came back today after visiting 2 weeks ago. We will grow this church one person at a time. (That is until Feb 1 when we are believing for alot more!)
• God is working some amazing things out in our church. Still can’t believe I get to do this for a living.
• I spoke this morning on Personal Growth in 2009. It was challenging to those that want to grow deeper in their faith journey. To everyone else, it was probably boring. Oh well…can’t please them all…won’t even try.
• I made the statement “if you tell me you do not have time to pray, I won’t believe you.” I wasn’t trying to be mean, I was being real. We need to pray. All of us.
• I also said that giving was not optional nor can it only be given when “you have the money.” It is wrong to murder, even if a person annoys you, right? God’s directives do not come with clauses. We do them because it is the RIGHT thing to do, even when it is not the easiest thing to do.
• I want to see you live life to its fullest. I want you to be in the will of God. I want you to see your purpose fulfilled. Growing with God this year will get you closer to those goals.
• Everyone needs to be at the Annex on Thomasville road this Wednesday at 7:00. Pastor Brian will be unfolding the plans for our church and you will not want to miss a very amazing, important announcement. One of our core values is change, and change is coming…get ready.

I would like everyone who reads this to keep our staff in your prayers this month. We have a lot to do in a very short amount of time, and will need God’s directions in some very tough decisions we have to make. We love you and are so excited about what God is doing in our church. He truly is amazing…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

