Skip to content

Perry Noble Lunch Takeaways

December 27, 2008

15290501So today was such a random yet exciting moment for me. I had the opportunity to have lunch with Perry Noble and a group of church planters. Perry is the Senior Pastor at Newspring church in South Carolina. I listen to a lot of Perry’s teachings and read his blogs. He is extremely funny and unapologetically passionate to the mission of Christ. We sat with him for a little over 3 hours and he was as transparent a person as I have met. He wanted to hear our stories and asked how he could help us. He taught by allowing us to ask questions and then he, in true Perry fashion, answered from the heart. Here are a few of the takeaways from this lunch:
• He said the single most important thing for a church planter to do is to make sure the vision does not get hijacked. If God gives you a vision, stick to it no matter what people say or do.
• This guy loves getting people saved, and focuses everything on it. It made sense to me. If we spend more times on developing small groups, programs, ministries, etc than we do on introducing people to Christ, we are backwards. Jesus changes lives, simple.
• Many people have told me I was crazy for the multi-site transition I have made. When I asked him if he faced anything like that, he just laughed and asked me if it was a God thing. When I answered yes, he said do it, don’t apologize, and watch as God is going to blow me away. Encouraging to say the least.
• Not all of your leaders will go with you to the next level. As you grow, your leadership must get more intentional and smaller. As more levels are added, they will each get a little smaller. Trying to lead a large church with same style leadership team as a medium sized will not work.
• He taught on his planning year. In the months that people are going to be there no matter what (January-Mid February) he seems to get a little more theology or doctrine based. On the months that attendance may naturally tend to drift, he goes to the areas that he feels his people need that are not as general. He says he does not fight the days that are low such as Memorial Day weekend or Father’s Day.

There is so much more but these are the ones that really hit me. I know that many of us read this kind of stuff or hear it over and over, but to hear someone teach how they apply it was a little different. It was a day that I was challenged, encouraged, and one that I will never forget. This guy took time to meet with 6 guys that he did not know, poured into them, and expected nothing in return. I hope and pray that if God works in our church in a way similar to what He has done at Newspring, I will be as grounded and willing to help others as Perry is.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2008 1:17 am

    that is so PIMP…I am seriously jealous…thanks for sharing.

  2. Christi Donahue permalink
    December 27, 2008 1:36 am

    Perry’s insight is very inspiring. 2009 is going to be a great year! I can’t wait to see how West explodes as God blesses the church. I am very happy to be apart of this amazing time.

  3. Stephanie permalink
    December 28, 2008 1:21 am

    Looks to me like you are already more like Perry than you think. I’m glad you got to have such a special day. I’m sure this will make the next meeting quite interesting. I’m excited to see the church grow as well as the people within it.

  4. December 28, 2008 5:32 am

    That’s awesome man! I wanted to go, but it didn’t work out. Seems like you really soaked things in and took some good notes! I am on staff at a church plant in Crestview, Fl… where is your church located? Thanks for the post!!!

Leave a Reply

