Skip to content

Shut Your Christmas Pie Hole – A Rant

December 20, 2008

This is a stressful time of year. Make no mistake about it, but what makes it stressful? The answer is simple: we are buys doing things. Here’s a fact…IT’S A GOOD THING TO BE BUSY RIGHT NOW! I know, some of you are going to give me the “Remember the Reason for the Season,” line. If you are close to me, or know me even a little, you will know that Jesus is not the reason for the season for me, He is the reason for life everyday. He is why I live and breathe, and I give everything I have to follow Him. I fully grasp the “reason for the season,” but let’s talk about why we are busy. Better yet, let’s look at what it would be like to not be busy right now.

 

  1. Some of us are busy shopping. That means we have some form of finances to be able to work with. We are busy trying to get the right gift to make someone happy. Unless we are buying out of pride, or putting ourselves deep in debt, buy a reasonable gift for someone. It will make you feel good.
  2. Some of us are busy going to Christmas Parties. That means that you have a job, friends, or a great church. If you are complaining that you have too many parties to go to, don’t go. Then you won’t have to worry about it next year because you might not get invited back. There is a world out there that if full of lonely people that will not attend anything. Please don’t take for granted the people in your life.
  3. Some of us are busy cleaning the house for the family to come over. Please do not make me comment on this one. Really? You have a family that is coming to see you. Cherish them. Love them. Not to mention you have a house to clean, and you will probably spend more on cleaning supplies than some people will have to eat on today.
  4. Some of us are busy attending Christmas programs at schools and churches. That means you live in a country where the freedom to have one is available. What great memories are made by the little boy picking his nose, or falling asleep, or the one kid that sings so loud that the microphone rings!

 

 

This list could go on and on. Am I mad? Heavens no! I am heartbroken. I heard a story the other day of a single dad of 4 boys, the mother walked out on them, he lost his job, him and his boys sit around the fireplace at night because they can’t afford to turn the heat on, he is desperate for a job but with a 4 year old and a 3 year old he cant find childcare, he is a Veteran of the War in Iraq, and when they interviewed him, he just said he was grateful for what he did have. You could have hit me in the crotch with a nail studded two by four and I would have felt better. For the most part we are a very blessed people, and I want you to take it to heart. So while you are going to the mall to buy a Wii, drinking a Starbucks, with your healthy children, and talking on your cell phone…enjoy it. Don’t wish to change a thing in your life, just look to be open to give God a huge thanks for what He is doing. Think what life would be like without all the “inconveniences” we are quick to complain about. Okay I am done ranting now, I am going to make brownies and drink boiled custard.

And by the way, it’s not Happy Holidays from me…it’s MERRY CHRSTMAS!! 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

