Skip to content

My Mind Dump

October 8, 2008

It has been amazing over the last month or so to see the amount of new people attending Genesischurch.tv West. As a result, I have had some “different” comments about our church. Being a video venue presents one small problem that I am working through. Since I do not preach every Sunday, people use my blog more and more to get to know me better. In the last few weeks, I have had several emails from new people that want me to blog on some personal things about me. They say I talk a lot about the church and my family, but they want to know about me. The first time someone told me this, I honestly brushed it off, but after more comments and emails have taken place, maybe I need to. So after reading a blog by Scott Hodge about a “mind dump,” I have decided to give you my personal mind dump. Here we go…

·      Books – I am currently trying to finish my Doctorate of Ministry up so my reading is mostly confined to textbooks. But I am reading “11 Indispensable Relationships You Can’t Live Without,” by Leonard Sweet. This book has challenged me to see who I have in my life, and who I need in my life. Very challenging to truly examine where you need more and less of people in your life. Highly recommend.

·      Bible – Personal reading: The Message. Personal Study: NLT

·      Music – Okay I am a music junky, and my tastes are very diverse. Yesterday I downloaded the new Oasis album “Dig Out Your Soul.” It is much better than their last few releases. I have also become re-hooked on the Jeremy Riddle album “Full Attention.” Amazing collection of passionate music. I still cry during the song “Sweetly Broken.” I am studying to Priscilla Ahn or Joshua Radin. Laid back music that let’s my mind work. Lots of others, but also I am hooked on Pandora Radio. Check it out.

·      Computer – MacBook Pro. I use it for about everything. I have a PC in my office but it is basically a huge jukebox. Holds all my itunes as well as file storage. It’s like a digital storage unit!

·      Mindmapping – I love mindmapping. It is for those of us who do not want to be liner thinkers. This is the program I use. I use it for to do lists, sermon prep, project planning, staff meeting prep, and just about anything else I can.

·      Television – Sportscenter, Heroes, Lost, Survivor, Big Brother, The Ultimate Fighter, Good Eats, Diners Drive Ins and Dives, and there’s more…

·      Sports Teams – First and foremost Kentucky Wildcats – I bleed blue! Green Bay Packers, I honestly root for all the Florida Teams…unless they are playng Kent

·      Food/Bev – Sushi is on the top of my list. Healthy, cold, delight to the tastebuds! I am also a huge coffee drinker. Right now my fav spot is The Coffee Pub on Thomasville Road. Their Sumatra is unbelievable. When I am at Starbucks, it’s a “triple venti 4 pump white mocha with whip.” That’s a rare treat. But sometimes all I really want is a nice hot espresso.

 

Okay, that’s enough for now. If you have any more questions, leave a comment and I will do my best to answer them. Now back to the task at hand: Growing an amazing, healthy church on the West Side of Tallahassee!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    October 8, 2008 2:12 pm

    Thanks for sharing!! The picture is awesome and you still ROCK!!

  2. Rodney permalink
    October 8, 2008 3:34 pm

    I’m gonna give mind mapping a try. looks like something that’ll help my processes.

  3. brenda permalink
    October 9, 2008 2:57 pm

    Nice pic

  4. shawnda permalink
    October 10, 2008 1:36 am

    You are like a trantula then, because they have blue blood too… really!

  5. rebecca hair permalink
    October 14, 2008 3:51 pm

    you should check out http://listen.grooveshark.com/
    it’s like pandora but it has more songs for more variety. let me know what you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

