Skip to content

Sonic Slush From God

September 27, 2008

On Thursday, my 3rd grader, Mackenzie, won her class spelling bee. (I will save the bragging for later!) She gets to go on to the regional spelling bee which is a big deal. So afterwards we decided to go to Sonic for a celebration Slush! My kids love them, and okay, I like them too! And if you go between 2-4 it is happy hour and they are half off which make them 80 cents each. Perfect for a Pastor’s salary!
Here’s the lesson I learned in that moment. The girls were so thankful. They kept saying “thank you,” over and over. They were so grateful for something that only cost me 80 cents. It was really nothing to do it, and as a matter of fact I actually paid for them with the change in my car’s console. But to them, I had done something amazing. I want to be like that with my relationship with God. I want to be thankful for the little things in life. Sure it easy for me to be thankful when someone gives their life to Christ, when someone is healed, set free from addictions, or a host of other “big,” things. But to a God that created the universe, it really is not hard for Him. He can do those things easier than me paying for a slush with “car change.”
I want to be thankful for my kids’ laughter. I want to be grateful for just being here one more day. I want to be thankful for a great book, or maybe just the ability to read. I want to be thankful, for a long hard day of serving Him. I want to be cognizant of the smallest places to say “thank you,” to God. I want to be thankful for the small things, for in those I am granted the ability to receive the bigger ones.

Where can you find ways to be more thankful?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2008 5:18 pm

    Living life in constant “small” thank you’s adds up to a life of “big” thankfulness towards God! I am adding you to my blog roll at http://www.jaredwaldrop.blogspot.com.

  2. September 27, 2008 5:44 pm

    Good stuff bro!
    I’m thankful I found stroup-waffles at Fresh Market! Yea Baby!

  3. September 28, 2008 4:16 am

    Wow, great post, Ben!

Leave a Reply

