Skip to content

Sunday Rewound

September 14, 2008

So I am sitting here watching the Jets/Patriots game and reflecting on today. Today was another wonderful day, as I watched God continue to develop a group of people into a living church that is willing to do something different to make a difference. Here is another edition of Sunday Rewound:

·      Parking lot attendants are amazing. Those four guys were out there sweating, yet when they came in to the auditorium, they were smiling. A true illustration of a servant’s heart.

·      I wore a vest and a tie to church today. Yes it might have been with jeans and an untucked shirt, and the tie was not completely up and tight around my neck, but I wore one. I wore a jacket last week, so if you put the weeks together, I wore a suit. Except for the jeans…

·      The GC Kids experience looked exciting. Lots of kids, lots of energy, and I am happy to see people willing to go through that chaos to get kids in touch with God.

·      Band had what I think was their best experience in probably a month. They gelled well today and the people were responding. They have been stretched so much lately, I am in awe at how such young people can just keep pushing.

·      Pastor Brian brought it today! Dealt with adultery and the root being found in the heart, not in actions. I closed it up with a time of prayer and I believe God worked in the hearts of many people. Hearts were cleansed.

·      Still working out technical glitches, but each week it gets better. Its technology, not people. The people did great.

·      We had another great crowd. Almost as many as we had last week, and that is good. Keep bringing people!

 

 

Keep our staff in your prayers this week, as we have a long week dealing with a lot of very difficult matters. Sometimes, leadership requires making tough decisions, and this week will have no shortage of tough decisions. But for now, I am going back to watching football and getting ready to make one of my famous spaghetti sauces. Okay, so I stole the recipe from Carrabba’s, but I still make it!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2008 12:59 am

    You guys are amazing. Sorry I’m not there to help.

  2. brenda permalink
    September 15, 2008 5:27 pm

    I am excited that church went well yesterday! I am especially proud that the group of volunteers carried on in Genesis kids without a hitch while I was home with a sick baby. Great job to the kids staff!!!
    The spagetti was awesome… better than Carrabba’s!
    I love you. I am proud of you.
    still the one~

  3. Michelle permalink
    September 15, 2008 6:47 pm

    I am so proud to be a memeber of Genesischurch.tv west. I know that everything is going to work out and we are going to be the fastest growing churches in Tallahassee. God is good and he is just getting ready to show off.
    We love our West Pastor and our Midtown Pastor. Just keep doing what you are doing and everything else will just fall into place.

  4. Stephanie permalink
    September 16, 2008 1:40 am

    Yeah. The people were great, especially that pastor of ours!

Leave a Reply

