Skip to content

Does It Ever Get Better?

August 26, 2008

Having a conversation today about life in general with a good friend led to a discussion about how hard it is to truly serve God. I asked the question, “Does it ever get better?” Now naturally, we always want to say yes. We say things like there is a valley before a peak, things can’t get worse, and a host of other things that make us feel better. Do we really believe that? Honestly, do we?

As a pastor, I want the church to always grow. I know that as long as there are people in the world that are not in a life transforming relationship with Christ, I will be trying to bring people to our church. But as a smaller church, there are problems, when we get to a medium size we will have problems, when we are large we will have problems. So again I ask, does it ever get better? Is there ever a time when things are just easy and simple and without heartache? We came to the answer that we didn’t know if it did.

That answer has rang in my mind all day. We serve an amazing God that could make it easy. Instantly, many of you have gone to the thought that if He made it easy, we would not appreciate it. Apparently some of you have not been in prolonged states of down days. What if it never gets better? What if every day was a struggle to get up and keep going? What if every day was a battle of health, emotional strain, or a host of other things that keep us from saying that it is “better.”

Okay, so all day I have thought about it. Does it get any better? Maybe not, but maybe that is not the point of life. Maybe life is about living a life completely dependent on God, regardless of the situations we are in. Maybe life is about “sharing in the sufferings of Christ.” Think about Christ. Did it ever get any better for Him? Look at the end of His life. In the end of His suffering, WE GOT TO FIND LIFE!

I believe that life is a journey of faith we are on. No I do not believe that it is going to be perfect all the time, and maybe our perception of “better” is out of whack due to our spoiled nature. I believe that bad times serve a purpose, even when we can’t see it. I believe that if knowing I have served Christ with reckless obedience is all I have, then it has to be enough.

Does it get better, I still do not know, but I do know that I will not give up. I will keep serving, I will keep loving people, I will keep searching for more of God in my life…maybe THAT is better. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

