Skip to content

A Crazy Love Morning

June 19, 2008

I am reading the book “Crazy Love,” by Francis Chan. If you are mature in your faith you should read this book, but if you are just beginning your walk this is not the book to start with. If you have questions why, email me and I will explain.

The book is very good. I am only through 4 chapters of the book, and Chan has already made me truly examine who I am in Christ. He has made me examine how I show my love for God, and the fact that it pales in comparison to how much He loves me. In a way, I feel awful after I read the book, because I feel like a child who has failed their Dad. Which is exactly the opposite of what Chan is trying to do, as he wants us to realize that God loves us regardless of our shortcomings. He challenges us to truly love God in a radical way that encompasses our entire life. As I finished chapter 4, I decided that I would share some highlights from this amazing chapter. Here we go…

 

  • He challenges us to not assume that we are the “good soil,” Jesus spoke of. We might be the soil that has thorns that chokes out the seed. Our thorns could be busyness, wealth, or anything that keeps us from God…no matter how good they may be. Only God is good, remember?
  • He then goes into a discussion about the traits of lukewarm Christians. (Again, if you are just beginning your faith walk be very careful with this book.) The most powerful trait for me was the following: “Lukewarm people don’t really want to be saved from their sin, they want to be saved from the penalty of their sin. They don’t genuinely hate sin and they aren’t truly sorry for it; there’re merely sorry because God is going to punish them. Lukewarm people don’t really believe this new life Jesus offers is better than the old one.” OUCH!!!!
  • Chan tells the story of considering going into the marines, but he said it didn’t because he hates to run. (Running is a lifestyle in the Marines, in case you live on another planet!) He said he never considered asking the Marine Corp to modify the rules for his liking. He knew it was part of the deal. How often do we do the same thing with Christ? He calls us to give Him everything, including the things we don’t like.
  • Finally on a lighter, yet still brutally harsh note, Chan discusses Luke 14:34-35. This is the passage that Jesus talks about salt that loses its flavor is not even fit for the manure pile. Chan then asks the question, “How would you like to hear the Son of God say, “You would ruin manure!” Okay that is brutal…but I like it.

 

Okay enough for today. Let me know what you think about this and I will keep you posted as I finish the book. Wish me luck!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Greg permalink
    June 20, 2008 9:33 pm

    Just wondering why you don’t think I should read this as a new Christian.

  2. Angela Ralston permalink
    November 18, 2008 4:56 pm

    Hi, I’ve noticed that you’ve blogged about Crazy Love, by Francis Chan. Just wanted you to know that the videos to accompany the book are now available to download at:
    http://www.crazylovebook.com/videos

    Also, a Crazy Love small group dvd with never-before-seen content will be available in January. Because of your wonderful blog post about the book, I’d like to offer you a free pre-release copy of the dvd to review. Please email me your address, and I’d be happy to send it. Thanks!

    Angela.Ralston@davidccook.com

Leave a Reply

