Skip to content

Random Day

June 4, 2008

Today is one of those rare days when I have a lot of things going without a clear deadline on any of them. They all have to get done, but none today. It makes my day very random and I do not have them very often. It makes my day feel fragmented, and my thoughts lose a stream of connection. So I have random thoughts, and I have decided to share some random thoughts with you…

 

  • There is no Wednesday night gathering tonight. We are getting ready for Ryan and Jennifer’s Wedding on Saturday and there are people coming to decorate. If you want to help, contact Brenda and see what she needs. There is a lot to get done, so if you want to come help, call her up and grab a job.
  • Weddings are crazy. Too often people fail to realize all that goes into a wedding. It would be much easier to just add water and BAM a wedding would happen. It takes a lot of work behind the scenes…kinda of like a marriage…
  • My wife is stinkin awesome! She is a little crazy, but that is what I like about her. How do I know she is crazy? Look who she married!!!!!
  • I’m still trying to figure out all the cool things this macbook pro can do. If you are a mac user, give me your greatest tip on using a mac.
  • This Sunday is a huge announcement for ECC. It will change us forever. I am pulling the trigger on something that God has placed in my heart and while some will love it, others will hate it. Either way I have to live with a decision to follow God in a way that most people will not understand.
  • Lost is the greatest show on T.V.
  • Perry Noble is preaching a series called “Me and Jesus,” and it is really great. It is available on free podcast through itunes. Check it out. It is changing me…
  • I am ready to finish my Doctorate. It is killing me and it has been on the back burner for the past 9 months since we moved, but I am now putting back on the front. I only have about 4 months worth of work to finish it and then it is over. Unless a Ph.D is coming…at least that is Brenda’s thought not mine.
  • I love sashimi. Fresh, healthy, heavenly.
  • I am thankful I have some of the greatest friends. Piney and Michelle, Arron and the band, Brian Hunter and all the gang at Genesischurch.tv (Scott, Jared and Lisa, Phil, Lance, Dana, Jeremy, Mike, Scott T.) My church family is great and I am glad God placed them in my life.
  • I am glad to have great mentors. Thanks Dr. Kuschel, Rocky, Brian…

 

Okay, I have to get to work now.

 

Grace to you…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Brenda Liles permalink
    June 4, 2008 2:47 pm

    Random… YES! You need to get in the swing of things. Thanks for the compliment and I agree that I have my crazy moments. PhD is coming, why stop now? Philly California rolls for me please. Weddings are NOT easy to arrange! I should go into business and actually make money for the craziness. I too am thankful for your friends and mentors… you are blessed. I love lost, heroes, and all the dance shows (boogie woogie disco queen, that’s me!) I have no help on your MAC, sorry. OH, Sunday, the announcement, the change, the progress, the prophecies fulfilled… I can’t wait. Thanks for your comittment to God’s calling!
    I LOVE YOU!

  2. June 4, 2008 6:56 pm

    We’re thankful to have you as a friend too!

  3. Ruth permalink
    June 5, 2008 1:18 pm

    What is sashimi?

    Always listen to your wife. You know she is a brilliant person.

    G ods ]
    R iches ]
    A t ]written by Marvin
    C hrists ]
    E xpense ]

    Love ya! Ruth

  4. June 5, 2008 1:50 pm

    I will say that is quite a bit you have to think about…it’s a good thing you’ve got Brenda to keep things straight for you.I can’t wait for the announcement this week.I also hafta wonder what is sashimi,I hope it has nothing to do with sushi.Maybe you should skip watchin’ Lost and work on your Doctorate,since you seemed to have slacked on that…lol.You are an awesome pastor..keep listenin’ to God & Brenda.

  5. Kevin Swiney permalink
    June 7, 2008 3:43 pm

    Do you like Thai food? There is a nice Thai place called Ban Thai. DO you do Jamaican food? There is a place across from the Aveda Institute that serves great bun & cheese and ox tails my friend. Drop aline or call me som3time. 728-7365

    Don’t wait until the Seafood Fesival to say hello again!

  6. Kevin Swiney permalink
    June 7, 2008 3:49 pm

    Sorry for the typo’s. I was juggling the baby and trying to type!

  7. Michelle permalink
    June 8, 2008 4:07 am

    Pastor Ben rocks!!! That is all I can say. I am so excited about Sunday and the “big news!”
    And Brenda rocks also. I really don’t know what I would have done without you guys last Thursday nite. I am so glad that God has placed you here. Not just for me, but for all you are doing here in Tallahassee. Keep listening to God and Brenda!!

Leave a Reply

