Skip to content

Letting Go…

April 16, 2008

Many of you know that I am a control freak. I am an evaluator, thinker, planner, and initiator. The problem comes when I have multiple options and all of them are great options. It is like I am on overload and I have to retreat mentally. In a battle retreat means to return to a safe place, a place of familiarity, or maybe just where you came from. But when you retreat mentally, as a leader you can’t just do that. You can’t just step back into a previous way of thinking just because it is comfortable or safe or even easy. As a leader, once you have moved beyond a certain level of progressive thinking or motion, where do you run when you are overloaded? Here’s something I figured out this morning. You don’t retreat, and you don’t move forward. You just be still. You sit still.

Sitting still is hard for me. I have been given a huge vision from God and with that comes enormous responsibility. I want to do everything to make that vision come to pass, but guess what…I can’t. God gave the vision, God will equip me to do what I need to do, and ultimately it will be God that makes the vision happen. For me, God will have to equip me to do one major thing…sit still. For me, my faith is grown in the stillness, in the moments when I am no longer in control, in the moments that my evaluations and plans fail due to the “me-driven” mentality that I have. For me, faith grows…when I CHOOSE to no longer be in control.

Our lives are in His hands, and He keeps our feet from stumbling. – Psalm 66:9

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 21, 2008 2:16 pm

    You are right to be still.Just be patient ..it’ll all happen when/how it’s supposed to,just like God wants.Just step back for a few moments & relax…God’s got it.

Leave a Reply

