Skip to content

Easter Rewound

March 25, 2008

            What a weekend! After numerous planning meetings, staff meetings, and a ton of volunteer team meeting the day of each of the events, it is all over and was worth every minute of planning. It really was a long weekend and I will recap all of it at once so here we go…

·      There was a team of great volunteers that showed up at 8:00AM on Saturday to set up the Easter Fun Day. From an outdoor sound system, cooking station, setting up inflatables, egg hunt preparation (which was filling 700 eggs with candy), getting all the food ready, blocking off the back parking lot for people, and all the other things that had to get done, everything was done by a team of fantastic volunteers. Without you it would have never happened, and I appreciate you more than you know.

·      When it all started I believed that we could get over a hundred people there, but boy was I wrong. With well over 200 people there, and 62 kids registered for the easter egg hunt, it was well beyond my expectations.

·      With all the people showing up, there were of course some wrinkles, but many people stepped up and did whatever it took to make it happen.

·      I played three on three basketball with some young guys and it was great. And yes I still have it for a white guy! I hit all my shots and they were calling me Steve Nash! Who wants some?!?!

·      Sunday was also a big day for ECC. We had a high attendance, and a lot of visitors. The ushers and first impression team were given their new responsibilities and they did great.

·      The new look of the sanctuary is wonderful. It has really changed since I got here and feels more like the church we are.

·      We are going to have to order more chairs! We had to bring out more for Sunday’s experience.

·      The music this week was intense and well planned. Arron again is amazing at how much he does for being so young, but when God has his hand on someone it really should not surprise me. The sky is the limit for this guy. I just hope I can hire him before someone else does.

·      When doing a children’s sermon during the main experience, get ready for anything to happen. It always will!

·      The media and lights were great. The media team came through with a very tough assignment of keeping up with all the media that was used during the experience.

·      So what was the result of this long, tiring weekend? 6 people gave their lives to Christ during the Sunday experience. Someone asked me if it was worth it, and my response was if only one person gave their life to Christ, then it was well worth it.

Stay tuned to this blog because in just a few weeks there will be a huge announcement concerning the direction of our church…God is directing us down an amazing path that will test our faith, but in the end, doing His will always does!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2008 7:12 pm

    Hey Boss-man…

    I definitely agree that the results of this weekend were well worth the great investment of time and effort by the staff and volunteers. And the transformation of our facilities truly blows my mind as well, having happily been a part of the muscle behind your vision. All of the media was great and the message was challenging and relevant…- As for me, I am only too glad to work with ECC under your direction. The short six months that I have been there have been a time of learning and growing… marked by investment and clarification. I thank you for taking an interest in my development and I, too, hope that your investment will continue to benefit the people of Encounter for a long time to come.

    — Arron

  2. Michelle permalink
    March 25, 2008 7:13 pm

    That weekend was absolutely amazing. From the Saturday event to the Sunday service. It was my best Easter exprience since I gave my life to the Lord. I think our Pastor and his family are amazing and I can’t wait for what is in store for our church int the upcoming months. You rock on Pastor Ben!!

  3. March 26, 2008 12:57 pm

    I thought it was the awesomest thing that more tables & chairs had to be brought out because of the huge amount of people there. It’s great that there was plenty of food there too otherwise there’d been alot of hungry people. It’s amazing so many people gave there life to Jesus. That was the coolest …Keep doin’ what you’re doin’ ,You’re an excellent pastor.:)

Leave a Reply

