Skip to content

My Anniversary Date

March 19, 2008

Yesterday was a big day for me. It was my 8 year anniversary of being married to my best friend. Brenda and I have been together for 10 years, and married for 8. She is an amazing person who has out up with a lot being married to me. (Although her dad told me I am the one putting up with a lot!) So if you have not heard Brenda and I are on the Dave Ramsey plan for a total money makeover so doing a big date night was not in the budget, so I created one.

I took her to the greatest restaurant in Tallahassee called Cadenzie’s. The night started with me going to Carrabba’s and picked up an appetizer, two meals, and dessert. (I had that much in the budget.) I convinced my two daughters to be the waitresses, hostesses, food runners, and bus boys. I had my wife go to the bedroom for a few minutes. I plated all the food on plates, bowls, etc. I had a brief training session with the wait staff and hostesses, and off we went. I “picked her up” at the bedroom door, and walked her to the door of the restaurant. (So it was actually our living room with a booth created out of the coffee table and couch. It was decorated with a lit candle on the table and jazz music in the background.) The hostesses greeted up with a “Welcome to Cadnezie’s!” (if you do not know, my daughters names are CADENence and mackeNZIE, thus the restaurant name.) They took us to our table and then served our entire meal. Appetizer first, then salads, the main course, and finally dessert! They were great waitresses, and we even tipped them! So I had to do the dishes, but it was well worth it.

So when it was all over, Brenda was smiling, and she would not had had it any other way. It wasn’t the dream date, but for a night we celebrated the greatest part of 8 years…our family.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2008 9:04 pm

    Hey man,

    When you told me this story earlier today, I thought it was the coolest thing ever. Just one more example of why I admire you. If I end up half as good a husband and father as you, when I’m married with children, I think that I’ll be in good shape. Bennie Dale Liles: Putting average guys to shame since 1976. lol

    — A

  2. Michelle permalink
    March 20, 2008 3:18 pm

    Wow, that is completely awesome. I think when you have time you need to have a sit down with Piney and teach him a few things. Our 18th is in September. ha. You are awesome.

  3. March 25, 2008 12:09 pm

    That is so cool you are that thoughtful. You should take her to Cadenzie’s for Mother’s day. Only let the girls “fix” dinner.

  4. March 30, 2008 1:14 pm

    When you bless her….you bless me. Thanks

    If child labor laws are not being violated I could use the girls at my house.

Leave a Reply

