Skip to content

A Lesson From Gracen

February 21, 2008

picture-047.jpgI had an amazing night last night. I was sitting in my chair holding my son, Gracen, and we began to play a game. He has this thing where he opens his mouth real wide and “kisses” your cheek. The problem now is that he has two teeth on the top and two on the bottom. Here’s the thing about these teeth: SMALL BUT SHARP. He also has little fingernails that could be used in any Japanese restaurant. They are that sharp and he wields them as good as any chef. He obviously does not realize it, but you do the moment those little razor teeth or nails get you.

            So last night he was sitting on my lap and we were forehead to forehead, but he wanted a piece of me. His mouth opened in a large fashion the likes that have only been seen on Jaws movies (RIP Roy Schneider.) The problem was that with my forehead on his he could not get to me. I laughed hysterically as he desperately tried and tried. Finally he reached up with BOTH razor equipped hands and grabbed the sides of my face. Our eyes were two inches apart and it was like I could hear him say, “I am trying to get to you dad!” Impressed by his diligence and effort, I was about to give in and let him, get me, but in that instant I felt God. Yes God. It was like He was saying “Let him keep fighting.” So I did what any dumbfounded Christ follower does, I let him keep fighting. After a few minutes, to my surprise, he gave up and laid his head on my chest. You know what I did? I picked him up and kissed him. Gracen must have been like, “Are you kidding, I fought that hard to get to you and now you pick me up?!?”

            Gracen was held AFTER he surrendered. I believe there are a lot of great intentioned people that fight to get to God. We fight hard daily to get close to Him, yet we do not feel like we are getting anywhere. Then in a moment of exhaustion, frustration, or bewilderment, we give up. We surrender. We lay our heads on God’s chest and say “okay You win.” And in that moment of our surrender, when our will is gone, when we have stopped praying out of obligation, reading the bible out of guilt, and have put away our happy face, He picks us up. He holds us like a father holding His exhausted child.

            May you surrender today. May you understand that in your humanity you can not drive yourself to God, but rather you will have an understanding that it will be Him that draws you. May you live in peace knowing that God is in control, even when it doesn’t seem possible. This prayer I pray for you…and for me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2008 9:57 pm

    Dude, that’s an awesome analogy. I love it.

  2. Angie permalink
    February 22, 2008 2:32 pm

    It’s really amazing how God can be found in the littlest situations itn’ it?

  3. Michelle permalink
    February 22, 2008 6:13 pm

    Wow, I love reading your blogs. This one again, was amazing!

Leave a Reply

