Skip to content

Without My Wife…

January 29, 2008

I love my wife. Seems kind of obvious for a man to love their wife, or is it? Read the stats on divorce and this is not the case.

As many of you know, my wife is still working in Gainesville. Most of the time she works out of her home office, but on certain weeks she has to go there to do work. She was gone last week, and because of all the tax stuff that has to get done she is gone this week again. I miss her. A lot. There is a growing concern that pastors do not spend enough time with their families and so now there is a big push for people, especially pastors, to “date their wives.”

I have decided I am not going to date my wife. Dating is a process that people go through before they make a decision about the person. Dating gives you a way out if you do not like what is going on. I am not going to date her anymore.

Pastors that are reading this…MARRY YOUR WIFE AGAIN! I am not talking about the ceremony, but about the commitment you have made to her. Marriage is about making your spouse the first and most important thing in your life. ( I know aside from your relationship with God…all you spiritual people out there!) I want to reaffirm that she is the most important thing again.

I will no longer just be a helper to my wife. I will no longer be a roommate. I will no longer be a co-parent with my wife. I will be that newly wed husband that drives us all crazy. I will be that naïve newly wed that thinks love will get us through everything…because maybe just maybe…it will.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    January 29, 2008 4:31 pm

    That was an awesome blog. You are the perfect couple and a very special part of our lives. I hope that your times together again as a couple will be very special. And we are here to help in anyway possible.
    Keep up the good writing and your awesome work as my Pastor. You ROCK!!

Leave a Reply

