Skip to content

Sunday Rewound

January 29, 2008

This past Sunday ECC had their first guest speaker, and it was a definite great change from the norm. Here are some highlights…

·        Dr. E. Bob Kuschel was the guest speaker from Westwood Hills Church of God in Gainesville.

·        His style is the other end of the scale from me. He is one of the best. He is emotional and deep at the same time. Many times preachers get loud but do not say anything with depth. He has the ability to do both.

·        Great attendance!!! Your support of ECC is tremendous.

·        Part of our new First Impression Team was in action today. It is great to see Jennifer and Laurie get involved in this team!

·        Arron and the band did a tremendous job. Their Spirit led worship set up Dr. Kuschel for success. It is great to see all the people worshipping in their own ways. From those seated to those standing with hands raised, God is pleased.

·        I enjoyed being fed. Many times it is the pastor that has to find ways to get fed, and for this week, it came to me. I was challenged and encouraged by the message.

·        There were several “Pentecostal” moments. Many of our new people looked a little confused. Much of our church has not seen things like this before and so now the teaching must begin. It was a good thing though. When God manifests in that way, I am always in awe.

·        Finally, Arron had a new arrangement of an old song. Dr. Kuschel loves the song, “Just A Closer Walk With Thee,” and Arron rocked it out. The great part was how Much Dr. Kuschel loved it!

 

Next week we start our February series entitled “Unlovables.” It will be all about loving those people that seem unlovable. If I read correctly, that is exactly what Jesus sat out to do, so will we…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2008 6:49 pm

    My highlight of the day?? — “She’s a hottie!” lol… Dr. Kuschel’s explanation of “Who’s damsel is this” proved far more entertaining than any personal reading of Ruth I’ve ever done! 😉 – But I must say, the “sun bonnet” illustration was a close second. =) – I was wearing mine!

  2. February 8, 2008 7:08 pm

    I had such a great time worshiping with the good folk at ECC. I love the church and appreciate the wonderful job that you are doing in an for the Kingdom of God. I was a little concerned and struggled over using the “Ho….” word but it just seeme to fit. I am glad that no one was offended.

    I look forward to being back at ECC soon.

Leave a Reply

