Skip to content

Apples To Apples

January 4, 2008

So I have fallen in love with a new game. First let me say I am not a big board game fan, but I have been introduced to a game that has me addicted. The game is called “Apples to Apples,” and it is basically a word association game. Each player has seven cards that are all nouns ranging from inanimate objects to actually people (I had Robert De Niro and Al Pacino in my hand at the same time last night. Forget about it!) So then the judge picks a card from another deck, and this deck is full of cards that have adjectives. Then each of the other players play a card face down to match the adjective card. The judge then picks which one is a winner without knowing who played each card. The person who wins gets the card, and the first person to 7 wins is the winner. Really a simple game, but addictive.

            After I played for a few minutes, I realized one important fact of the game. I had to play the judge as much as the cards. For example, the adjective given was “painful.” I played the card that said “Barbed Wire,” and I thought it was a sure fire winner. But then to my surprise the card that said “homework” was chosen! The judge was my 12 year old niece, and to her, homework in more painful than barbed wire! So I realized that the person who was the judge had to be taken into consideration. My perception of painful and hers was quite different.

            It’s not that much different that life, especially that of a Christ Follower. When the “Christian,” card is played, what will those is your communities respond with? How do they see Christianity, and is their perception warranted? We talk about culture, context, and a host of other things that are all very important to making Christianity what it should be, but maybe we better figure out what our community’s perception is first. How can we change perception, if we are not sure what it is?

            I am going to be dealing with this as the New Year has begun. I need to be aware of what the perception of Christ is before I can change anyone’s perception. Now you will have to excuse me, I am going to make my niece sit on a barbed wire chair…maybe that will change her perception.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Laura Hedgecock permalink
    February 18, 2009 6:40 pm

    Good Analogy with Christianity. Never thought of it that way. Playing w/ 12 yr olds will open you eyes. See my post http://memoriesinthewind.wordpress.com/2009/02/18/apples-to-apples/

Leave a Reply

