Skip to content

Sunday Rewound

December 31, 2007

Another Sunday in the history books of ECC, and here are some thoughts…

* It was great to have my parents and family in service. They live 4 hours away, and to have them be a part of what I do is special. They said they enjoyed the service, and that the people were very friendly.

* We were a little down in attendance due to college kids on break and several key families out of town. We miss them and all they bring to ECC.

* Arron and the worship team did a good job considering the hectic week it has been!

* Many people told me how wonderful my harmonica solo was…listen to the teaching to find out what that is all about. Go to encountercommunitychurch.org tomorrow to hear yesterday’s teaching. This is a solo you do not want to miss! John Popper look out!

* Next week starts our new series “Bootcamp.” This series deals with the spiritual disciplines needed to enhance your life as a follower of Christ.

That’s all for now, I have to get ready for the Kentucky Football Bowl game!!!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Pam Liles permalink
    December 31, 2007 10:39 pm

    Your teaching really touched me and opened my eyes to the way I look at resolutions. This morning when I sat down to put pencil to paper, rather than jotting down once again I want to lose that elusive ten pounds, I thought of ways to make my whole family healthier – physically, mentally and, for the first time in a long time, spiritually. I look forward to listening to your teachings. If only the ride were a little shorter…

  2. January 3, 2008 6:08 pm

    I cant deny it… I LOVED the harmonica solo! So much so, in fact, that I may write in a part for you for praise-&-worship on Sunday morning. It was a bit short, however, and I think you should have taken a little more time to wow the crowd with your superior solo skills. I think I read somewhere that proficient harmonica performance is one of the seven signs of an anointed pastor. šŸ˜‰ – “Praise ‘im church, praise ‘im”.

  3. Laverne Brown permalink
    January 9, 2008 5:00 pm

    Ben – What a wonderful gift you have accepted from the Lord! I listen to your teachings on the mornings I feel like painting, and I always receive such a blessing from them. You were meant to live a meaningful life, and you had the courage to accept God’s direction. I know how hard both you and Brenda have worked to get to this point in your lives, and I am so proud of you.

    I loved the way you opened the service with the children speaking, but that harmonica has GOT to go to a home where it can make the music it was designed for ears to hear.

    God loves those who live his word. Ma ka malu o kona ‘eheu. (Stay within the shelter of his spirit.)

Leave a Reply

